Tags

, , ,

In preparation for my upcoming needle felting class I decided to try dyeing my own wool roving with Kool-Aid. It was even easier than I thought it would be. I woke up this morning and it is dry and ready to felt!

Here was my easy process:

I filled bowls with four cups very hot water and 1/4 cup white vinegar and added one packet of Kool-Aid to each. The first bowl is Peach Mango and the second is Strawberry.

I put natural wool roving in and turned it a few times to saturate and let it sit for about 45 minutes and then poured the roving into a colander and gently squeezed out the excess water. I then filled the bowl with fresh warm water and rinsed the roving and repeated a few times, sqeezing gently and rinsing in a clean bowl of water.

Then I rolled the roving in absorbent towels and pressed again to remove as much moisture as possible. At this point it was slightly damp and not having a clothesline I hung it on my chandelier to finish drying.

Funny how the colors go with my home!

