Tags

, , , , , , ,

I enjoyed making a second journal spread this week still working with my recently collaged images.

Inspired to make a few changes to my original Flower Angel collage

Flower angel

after visiting Dumbarton Oaks Gardens this week and taking some photos.

Dumbarton Oaks Gardens

I used the camellias I photographed to make part of her gown.

Camellias

Several months ago I had collaged background paper using paper napkins, sheet music, paper towels I had cleaned up my painting surface with, cheese cloth and other various scraps. After cutting out two sections I stitched them with my sewing machine to tack down loose bits and created pockets in the cheese cloth that did not glue down well. Then I glued them to my journal pages.

I adhered my collaged image with gel medium to the right hand page and added an old watch face topped with a vintage locket to her torso and the word “seen” cut from an old book page.

The edge of the page is trimmed with a scrap of felted wool, some lace from a friend and leftover cheesecloth, twine and a vintage velvet flower.

Still practicing my sketching and experimenting with watercolors I made a bookmark

for one of the pockets

and tucked a few bird feathers I found on my daily walks in the other little pocket.

Enjoy your weekend and may it be filled with art and inspiration!

xoxo

Susan

