Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have taken a break from my sketching and journals lately to make a gift for dear friends whose wedding we were honored to be part of this past November.

Much of the lace I used was gifted to me by generous friends in my art group or is from my mother’s wedding gown and even bits from the dress I will be wearing for my own wedding next month in Venice, Italy. I hope this book will convey that friendship and love and the endurance of weddings past.

To start the book I gathered cotton fabrics and tore them to the full size of the page. I made an extra shot of my morning espresso and after printing some frames from The Graphics Fairy on fabric and stamping favorite quotes I stained the new fabric to give it a bit of patina. I also printed black and white photos from their wedding day onto fabric.

I added vintage lace and bits to each page and adhered a favorite love poem by Elizabeth Barrett Browning to an old book cover.

As I stitched I added little pockets to tuck the poem in as well as other mementos I had collected from our lovely weekend in historic Annapolis.

I embellished the next page with a tag from our celebratory champagne  and a vintage watch face and button.

Tucking in a ring pouch which was the color of the wedding cake.

IMG_2070

On the last pages I added more pockets in black and white to tuck the remaining bits.

Stationary from the Governor Calvert House, doilies from Champagne and scones at  Reynolds Tavern,  a vintage card and the stamp and invitation to their upcoming celebratory party at their new home. I embellished the pocket with the champagne top I had saved and a lovely piece of vintage French passementerie.

The back cover shows off the lovely lace from my mother’s wedding gown and one of a pair of earrings from the bride’s grandmother

and the spine is wrapped with ribbon secured with vintage mother of pearl buttons.


This was my first lace book and Sew Somerset and Lilla Le Vine provided amazing inspiration and technique. Thank you Carmen, Patty and Fran for sharing your lovely lace bits, Lisa for those sweet little French buttons. Spreading the love! =) xoxo Susan

“In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.”

~ Khalil Gibran

